Starmount Church traces its roots back to 1908 when Charlotte was a bustling town of nearly 30,000 people and some local believers began meeting next to Sims Grocery in Dilworth. Twelve members organized a new church and named it Chalmers Memorial Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church in honor of Dr. John Chalmers, pastor of Charlotte’s First A.R.P. church in the late 1880s. Within a year, fifty new members were added. By 1910, the church dedicated its new sanctuary at the corner of South and East Boulevards, a busy intersection and streetcar stop. The church flourished through the years with revival meetings, Sabbath (Sunday) School, and missions efforts. In 1958, the church celebrated its 50th anniversary, culminating in a worship service with guest preacher Billy Graham who attended the church as a boy.
As times changed, the church faced an aging membership and was surrounded by the new growth of a booming city. After more than eighty years in what became a landmark building, the congregation voted to relocate. In 1996, the church purchased the site of a former Episcopal church on Starbrook Drive. To better reflect our connection with the neighborhood, in 2015 Chalmers Memorial changed its name to Starmount Church. 2016 brought additional changes when Starmount merged with Ebenezer ARP Church. With a rich history and great hope for the future, Starmount stands united to serve our neighborhood and beyond.